Do-it-at-home long lasting nail polish?!

It looks like I’ve been living in a cave as far as the nail game goes, because I only discovered today (in 2017!!) that there are these long-wear gel-like nail polish out there in the market.

img_1393
Left to right: Top Coat; 460 Hold’em; 620 Roulette Rush

I got a couple of bottles of the Revlon Colorstay Gel Envy nail polish to try on, and I was blown away. What I remember of doing nails at home was the excruciatingly long time it took for the polish to thoroughly dry. Painstakingly long. I would be doing everything I could think of – showering, brushing my teeth, changing into pyjamas etc. just to make sure I literally did not have to lift a finger ever again before I went to bed. And then, I always woke up in the morning finding at least a couple of the nails ruined during my sleep. (An imprint of the texture of your bed sheet on your thumb nail, anyone?)

And that, was the way things were 10 years ago.

And that was the reason why I turned to acrylic nails maybe 8-9 years ago. It was before the soak-off gel polish came to the market (in Hong Kong at least). Those acrylic nails were durable and clanked a lovely tune when I typed my life away in front of the computer.

And then there came the “soft-gel” nail polish which were also super durable and did not require all that harsh abrasion to take off. So I stuck to those for a few years until I picked up sewing – sewing was something that made me want to stay home the entire day so a trip to the nail salon was becoming more and more unattractive. I didn’t feel like spending 2 hours on travelling to and from the nail salon to get the nails done twice a month anymore, and it was an expense which I was happy to cut off. After all, who would mind spending US$150 less a month?

So it was about 2 years ago when I stopped going to the nail salon and basically kept my nails bare at all times. I don’t know what got me recently but I couldn’t take my mind off nail polishes these couple of days. And it was initially just on the good old fashioned nail polishes. Then I stumbled across the Essie Gel Couture line. After several more clicks on Youtube, I decided to hop to my nearest drugstore to take a good look myself. Unfortunately the drugstore didn’t carry Essie, or any of the Infinite Shine line of the OPI products. Instead, the Revlon Colorstay Gel Envy stuff were on sale!

There are several reviews on the products on the Internet already but what most amazed me was the short time it took to dry. It was perhaps 20 minutes after applying the top coat I tried touching the surface of the nails and it was dry. Then I went for a nap, and woke up with my nails intact. I was literally blown away by this.

img_1392
This is the 620 Roulette Rush on me. Perfect shade of red on my skin tone imo.

It felt like the world has evolved without me. And this time, I guess I don’t mind.

cropped-carpcraftslogo.png

 

 

Leave a Reply

